Manuscripts

  • Granted charter of Archbishop Gennadiy of Novgorod to hegumen Isaia of Solovki

    Novgorod the Great. March, 15, 1491
    Paper, ink, wax; manuscript, stamping.
    1 sheet, 18,5 х 12,4 cm
    Acquired from the Solovetskiy monastery in 1923

  • Cathedral epistle of Metropolitan Makarios of Moscow to hegumen Filippos of the Solovetskiy monastery

    Moscow. January 24, 1554
    Paper, ink, wax; manuscript
    8 sheets, 298,7 х 29,5 cm
    Acquired from the Solovetskiy monastery in 1923.

  • Table charter of Metropolitan Makarios of Novgorod to postulant Varfolomey about his enthronement as archimandrite of Solovetskiy monastery

    Novgorod the Great. February 4, 1660
    Paper, ink, gold, wax, lace; manuscript
    1 sheet, 53 х 42,5
    Acquired from the Solovetskiy monastery in 1923.

  • Record of the Charter of Tsar Mikhail Fyodorovich in Kargopol to commander F.T. Pushkin and Scrivener I. Kudrin

    Russia, 1630.
    Paper, ink, cursive writing.

  • Charter of Kholmogory Archbishop Athanasius to the monk Sylvester about his designation to Hierodeacon to the Church of the Transfiguration in the Solovetsky monastery

    Arkhangelsk, 1690.
    Paper, ink, red wax; cursive writing.

  • Charter of purchase of Mikhail the son of Fedor Samat (?) to Basil the son of Volodimir Ustepin on the court with the court, mansions and other buildings in Lud in Unsckaya guba

    Russia, North. 1527.
    Paper, ink; cursive writing.

The collection of manuscripts of the Moscow Kremlin Museums numbers a bit more than 1600 exhibits and includes documentary materials from the late XVth to the early XXth century.

The fund itself is rather young. It was formed mainly in 1920s. Before that time the main collection of the Armoury Chamber included only such manuscript rarities that bore a significant state value together with imperial treasures. The documents of this kind are “The approved charter of the 1613 Zemsky Council (elective district council) on the election of Tsar Michael Fyodorovich Romanov to the Royal Throne” and “The charter on the establishment of the Patriarch’s Throne in Russia in 1589”.

A small group of the pre-revolutionary collection exhibits is represented by memorial items that have belonged to individuals. These are some manuscripts of Alexander I: “Notes on Moscow memorabilities” by N.M. Karamzin (1817) and two manuscript books, so called “Sheet on guards and posts”(1820 and 1823) and “The charter conferred on Boyar B.M. Khitrovo”, the fragment of which was saved and brought to the Armoury Chamber from K.A. Naryshkin in 1881.

The rest of the manuscript collection was formed in the 1920s due to the collecting activities of the Armoury Chamber employees.

There are three exhibits in the collection that are connected with the imperial family and belong to the last years of reigning of Nicholas II. These are addresses to Emperor Nicholas II and the heir to the throne Crown Prince commemorating the 300th Anniversary of the Romanov House, the beginning of World War I, and the 1916 Easter Day. They came from the imperial property in the early 1920s.

Ten charters of 1673-1718, conferred on individuals for their great services for the Fatherland, are of a special interest. Solemn and generously ornamented, these charters have hanging red-wax seals, partly enclosed into silver sheaths. The documents assigned partimonial and immunity rights to their owners. The charters belonged to L.S. Shishkov, G. Kondratiev and his sons, A. Tansky, S.L. Vasilchikov, I.L. and G.S. Rimsky-Korsakovs. The charters must have been confiscated by Gokhran (Russian State Treasury) in the 1920s together with collections of artworks. The Armoury Chamber employees managed to take them from Gokhran in 1926.

The largest part of the collection of manuscripts (more than 1500 exhibits) is comprised of letters and manuscripts from the Solovetsky monastery. The documents came to the Armoury Chamber in 1923 after the devastation of the monastery by fire and its conversion into the Solovki prison camp.

For several centuries, the Solovetsky Monastery possessed the right of governance and judgement on the vast territory of Russia, as well as the right to collect custom duties and some other immunity rights. They were granted to the monastery by the Russian rulers and reflected in the special charters. The Vestry collection includes hundreds of such granted charters, some economic documents and several manuscript books, sent to the monastery by the Russian rulers and Church hierarchs during the late XVth – XIXth centuries.

The scientific value of the manuscripts collection of the Moscow Kremlin Museums cannot be overestimated.


Explore the collections of the Moscow Kremlin Museums online

Рукописи

  • Жалованная грамота

    архиепископа Новгородского и Псковского Геннадия соловецкому игумену Исаие
    Новгород Великий, 15 марта 1491 г. Бумага, чернила, воск; рукопись, тиснение. Поступила из Соловецкого монастыря в 1923 г.

  • Соборное послание

    митрополита Московского Макария игумену Соловецкого монастыря Филиппу
    Москва, 24 января 1554 г. Бумага, чернила, воск; рукопись. Поступила из Соловецкого монастыря в 1923 г.

  • Настольная грамота

    митрополита Новгородского Макария постриженнику соловецкому Варфоломею о поставлении его в архимандриты Соловецкого монастыря
    Новгород Великий, 4 февраля 1660 г. Бумага, чернила, твореное золото, воск, шнур; рукопись. Поступила из Соловецкого монастыря в 1923 г.

  • Список с грамоты

    царя Михаила Федоровича в Каргополь воеводе Ф.Т. Пушкину и подьячему И. Кудрину
    Россия, 1630 г. Бумага, чернила, скоропись.

  • Грамота

    ставленная Холмогорского архиепископа Афанасия монаху Сильвестру о поставлении его в иеродиаконы к церкви Преображения в Соловецкий монастырь
    Архангельск, 1690 г. Бумага, чернила, воск красный, скоропись.

  • Купчая (продажная)

    Михаила Федорова сына Самата (?) Василию Володимирову сыну Устепину на двор с дворищем, хоромами и другими постройками в вол. Луде в Унской губе
    Россия, Север, 1527 г. Бумага, чернила, скоропись.

Собрание рукописей Музеев Московского Кремля насчитывает чуть более тысячи шестисот экспонатов и включает в себя документальные материалы  конца XV – начала XX веков.

Сам фонд сравнительно молодой, он сложился в основном в 20-е годы XX века. До этого времени в основное собрание Оружейной палаты входили лишь такие рукописные раритеты, которые наряду с императорскими сокровищами имели общепризнанное государственное значение. Такими документами являются  Утвержденная грамота Земского собора 1613 года об избрании на царский престол Михаила Федоровича Романова и Грамота об учреждении в России патриаршего престола в 1589 году.

Также небольшую группу дореволюционной коллекции составляют предметы, носящие мемориальный характер и ранее принадлежавшие частным лицам. Это несколько вещей императора Александра I: «Записка о московских достопамятностях» Н.М. Карамзина (1817) и две рукописные книжки, так называемые «Ведомости о караулах и постах» (1820) и (1823), а также грамота, пожалованная боярину Б.М. Хитрово, сохранившаяся во фрагменте и поступившая в Оружейную палату от К.А. Нарышкина в 1881 году.

Остальной состав рукописного собрания скомплектован в 20-е годы XX века благодаря собирательной деятельности сотрудников Оружейной палаты.

Три экспоната из этой коллекции непосредственно связаны с императорской фамилией и относятся к последним годам царствования Николая II. Это адреса императору Николаю II и наследнику цесаревичу по случаю празднования 300-летия царствующего Дома Романовых, в связи с началом I Мировой войны, и ко дню Пасхи 1916 года. Они поступили из дворцового имущества в начале 20-х годов XX века.

Особый интерес представляют десять жалованных грамот частным лицам, отличившимся перед Отечеством, 1673–1718 годов. Торжественные, богато орнаментированные, с вислыми красновосковыми печатями, порой заключенными в серебряные футляры, они закрепляли за их владельцами вотчинные или иммунитетные права. Эти грамоты принадлежали Л.С. Шишкову, Герасиму Кондратьеву с сыновьями, Антону Танскому, С.Л. Васильчикову, И.Л. и Г.С. Римским-Корсаковым и очевидно вместе с их коллекциями произведений искусства были реквизированы из усадеб в Гохран в 20-е годы XX века. Сотрудникам Оружейной палаты удалось получить их из Гохрана в 1926 году.

Основную, самую большую часть фонда рукописей (более тысячи пятисот экспонатов) составляет собрание грамот и рукописей Соловецкого монастыря, поступившее в Оружейную палату в 1923 году из разоренного пожаром монастыря, превращенного в Соловецкий лагерь особого назначения.

Соловецкий монастырь на протяжении нескольких веков обладал на огромной территории правом управления и суда, сбора таможенных пошлин с торгов и другими иммунитетными правами, которые предоставлялись ему российскими государями и оформлялись специальными жалованными грамотами. В ризничной коллекции сохранились сотни жалованных, указных, подорожных, милостинных, запросных и других грамот, направлявшихся сюда русскими государями и церковными иерархами на протяжении конца XV–XIX веков, а также некоторые хозяйственные документы и несколько рукописных книг.

Собрание рукописей Музеев Московского Кремля, несомненно, представляет огромный научный интерес.

Здесь вы можете ознакомиться с нашими коллекциями online