12 July — 29 September 2024

Exhibition Hall of the Patriarch’s Palace

Organised by:

The National Museum — Sultanate of Oman, the Moscow Kremlin Museums

Participant:

The National Museum — Sultanate of Oman

The National Emblem

 

In the glow of silver, visitors to the exhibition will discover an unfamiliar and fascinating world of traditional Omani culture. Daggers, belts, amulets and jewellery made of the precious metal are timeless. From ancient times to the present day, silver jewellery has been used not only as a sign of the status and material well-being of its owner, but also as a means of artistic self-expression. It is often possible to identify a specific region or even a particular workshop in the peculiarities of decoration, since ornamental motifs have been passed down from generation to generation for centuries.

To understand the exceptional role of silver in the history and culture of Oman, it is worth noting that the precious metal was used in the making of traditional Omani khanjar dagger, depicted in the Sultanate's national emblem. The pieces of Omani silversmiths will be on display in all their splendour and variety, from jewellery to silver-ornamented arms and ceremonial costumes.

Women and men of all ages and social status wore silver jewellery in Oman, either at the Sultan's court or in everyday life. Whether it was a ceremonial dagger, a Noble Qur’an case necklace or a ring, each object was crafted with filigree artistry and became not only an accessory but also a metaphysical object, embodying spiritual protection and combining the perfection of form with the value of the precious metal.

Two groups of memorabilia from prominent figures in Omani history occupy a special place in the exhibition hall. The first is a traditional costume belonging to Sheikh Sir Mbarak bin Ali al-Hinawi (1896-1959), who was the chief representative of the Sultan of Zanzibar in the coastal regions of East Africa and is also known as a historian and researcher of Swahili culture. The second complex contains personal belongings and jewellery of Princess Sayyida Salma bint Sa'id al-Busa'idi (c. 1844-1924), author of the world's first autobiography of an Arab noblewoman.

 

The exhibition is open every day except Thursday from 9:30 to 18:00.

Entrance fee to the exhibition – 500 RUB.
Free for under 7-year-olds.

Tickets are available:

  • online on the museum's website (only full-price tickets);
  • in the museums' ticket office in Alexander Garden on the day of the visit;
  • at touch-sensitive terminals at the museum's ticket office and the Kremlin territory on the day of your visit (only full-price tickets).

EXHIBITION HALLS

Exhibition halls

 

 

Partner:

RDIF

 
up

12.07.2024 — 29.09.2024

Выставочный зал Патриаршего дворца

Организаторы:

Национальный музей Султаната Оман, Музеи Московского Кремля

Участник:

Национальный музей Султаната Оман

Национальная эмблемаВ сиянии серебра перед посетителями выставки раскроется незнакомый и завораживающий мир традиционной культуры Омана. Выполненные из драгоценного металла парадные кинжалы, пояса, амулеты и ювелирные украшения неподвластны течению времени. С древних времен и до наших дней украшенные серебром изделия не только свидетельствуют о статусе и материальном благополучии владельца, но и служат средством художественного самовыражения мастера. В особенностях их декора нередко можно прочитать принадлежность к определенному региону и даже мастерской, поскольку орнаментальные мотивы столетиями передавались из поколения в поколение.

Для понимания исключительной роли серебра в истории и культуре Омана необходимо отметить, что драгоценный металл применялся при изготовлении традиционного оманского кинжала ханджара, запечатленного в национальной эмблеме султаната. Произведения серебряных дел мастеров Омана предстанут во всем своем великолепии и разнообразии, от ювелирных произведений до украшенного серебром оружия и парадного костюма.

Серебряные украшения в Омане носили и женщины, и мужчины, независимо от возраста и социального статуса, как при дворе cултана, так и в обычной жизни. Выполненный с филигранным искусством, каждый предмет, будь то парадный кинжал, ожерелье-футляр для Священного Корана или перстень, становился не просто аксессуаром, но и обретал метафизический смысл, олицетворял духовную защиту, сочетая в себе совершенство формы и ценность благородного металла.

Особое место в выставочном зале занимают два комплекса мемориальных вещей выдающихся личностей в истории Омана. Первый – традиционный костюм, принадлежавший шейху сэру Мбараку бин Али аль-Хинави (1896–1959), который, будучи главным представителем султана Занзибара в прибрежных регионах Восточной Африки, известен также как историк и исследователь культуры суахили. В состав второго комплекса входят личные вещи и украшения принцессы Сайиды Сальмы бинт Са’ид аль-Буса’иди (ок. 1844–1924), автора первой в мире автобиографии знатной арабской женщины.

 

Партнёр:

РФПИ

 
вверх