17 September 2021 – 09 January 2022

Exhibition Hall of the Patriarch’s Palace, Exhibition Hall of the Assumption Belfry

Organized by
The Moscow Kremlin Museums
Participants:

The Moscow Kremlin Museums, the Palaces of Versailles and Trianon, Victoria and Albert Museum, the National museums of Castles Malmaison and Bois-Préau, National Library of France, the Reims Municipal Library, the State Tretyakov Gallery, the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, the Shchusev State Museum of Architecture, the State Hermitage, Museum and Heritage Site "Pavlovsk", the Russian State Library, the Archive of the Russian Academy of Sciences, the Russian State Archive of Ancient Documents

The display dedicated to the centuries-old history of Russian-French relations includes more than 200 pieces, among which are archival documents, personal belongings of the heads of state, diplomatic gifts and works of art. Throughout centuries they have been carefully kept by the museums, archives, libraries of both countries and above all by the royal treasury – the Armoury Chamber of the Moscow Kremlin.

The exhibition opens with a unique document, recalling the events of the 11th century when the Old Russian and French ruling dynasties intermarried: the daughter of the Great Prince Yaroslav the Wise became the spouse of King Henri I. This manuscript from the funds of the National Library of France dates back to the year 1063 and has a Cyrillic inscription, presumably an autograph by Anna, daughter of Yaroslav. In 1896 a copy of this document was presented to Emperor Nicholas II during his official visit to Paris. At the same time, the Russian monarch had an opportunity to see the so-called Reims Gospel that in the 19th century was associated with Anna Yaroslavna, while a part of it was written in Cyrillic letters in Church Slavonic. The President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin presented a facsimile copy of the manuscript to the President of France Emmanuel Macron during the official visit in 2017. The Reims Gospel, being a symbol of friendly relations between the two countries, is one of the key objects of the display.

Diploma of Philipp I, confirming the right of Sts. Crispin and Crispinian abbey to posses altars in Pernant and Colombes, with autobiographic signature of his mother, Queen Anna The Reims Gospel  Drawing “Peter I and Louis XV in Paris on 11 May 1717” Tapestry ‘Urania the Muse of Astronomy’, from the Bérain Grotesques series, the Muses set

Beginning with the 17th century, when the first tsars’ embassies were sent to France, the Russian-French ties gradually started to strengthen, and after the visit of Peter the Great to Paris constant diplomatic relations were established between two great powers. It is symbolic that the drawing by Desmarets "Peter I and Louis XV in Paris on 11 May 1717", being one of the key objects of the show, was presented by Charles de Gaulle, Chairman of the Provisional Government of the French Republic then, to the USSR leadership in 1944 as a diplomatic gift.

In the 18th century, the political dialogue was followed by purchasing French jewellery, pieces of fine art and sculpture, arms and fabrics. Talented masters were invited from France to Russia. The fascination of the Russian imperial court with French art and luxury can be traced by the presented arrases, ceremonial costumes of the young Emperor Peter II, brilliant laces of Russian monarchesses, items of the "Paris" silver service of Empress Elizaveta Petrovna, as well as exquisite masterpieces of French armourers, including a pair of pistols of Emperor Peter III by the royal armourer La Roshe.

Tapestry «Portrait of Peter the Great» Snuffbox Coat and waistcoat of Emperor Peter II House dress

Portraits from the collection of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts create a gallery of outstanding political and cultural figures who lived during the rule of Elizaveta Petrovna and Catherine the Great: Russian ambassador in France Duke Golitsyn D.M. and his wife, famous Galloman and "Voltairian" Count Shuvalov A.P., as well as a son of King Louis XV – Dauphin Louis.

A section devoted to the epoch of Catherine the Great includes items of the well-known "Orlov" silver service by Roettier and precious inkstand with watches of Paris workmanship that belonged to the Empress. Unique pieces from the collection of the "Pavlovsk" Museum and Heritage Site are to revive memories about the foreign journey of Great Prince Pavel Petrovich and his spouse Maria Fedorovna, while the years of the French Revolution find their reflection in the rarest memorial items and portraits, made by Vigée Le Brun – a beloved artist of Queen Marie Antoinette.

Wine Bottle Cooler from the ‘Orlov’ service Writing set with clock Cane knob

Ice-cream bowl with a lid Jewellry box Portrait of Antoinette-Elisabeth d’Aguesseau, comtesse de Segur

A particular section of the exposition is dedicated to the relations between Russia and France during the reign of Alexander I. Among the exhibits one can see the items from the "Olympic" service that was presented to the Russian sovereign by Napoleon I due to the 1807 Treaty of Tilsit, arms set by Boutet N.N. – a present to the Russian governor-general of Paris Osten-Saсken F.V. from the grateful citizens, as well as the star of the order of the Holy Spirit, handed to Alexander I by King Louis XVIII after the victory over Napoleon and restoration of the monarchy. Further on, the exposition tells the visitors about the history of the ’Russian Nice’, the participation of the Armoury Chamber in the 1867 World Exposition in Paris, as well as strengthening of Franco-Russian friendship and concluding an alliance at the end of the 19th century.

Pistols Dish «The Abduction of Europa» Star of the Order of the Holy Spirit (needlework)

Most of the exhibits are on display for the first time. Among them particular attention should be paid to the rifle with a gilded dolphin, commemorating the birth of the long-awaited heir to the French throne, future King Louis XVI, as well as rarities from the imperial collection, such as a snuffbox with portraits of the children of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette by the court artist Sauvage and a prayer book of Maria Leszczyńska, wife of Louis XV.

Hunting rifle 

The art pieces from the Moscow Kremlin Museums witness the solidity of the centuries-old cultural ties between Russia and France, mutual interest and respect of the traditions and spiritual life of the nations.

 
The Moscow Kremlin Museums have launched a theme-based satellite site about the exhibition 10centuriestogether.kreml.ru


Admission fee – 500 RUB.

Discount ticket for all under-16s – 250 RUB.

The entry time is every half hour from 09:30 to 18:00. Face coverings, correctly worn, and gloves, are mandatory during your visit.

Tickets are available:

 

EXHIBITION HALLS

Exhibition halls

 

SPONSORS

Promsvyazbank

 

 

Gold mining company

Promsvyazbank

Media partners

   Russia-24    

 

 

Strategic media partner

TheArtNewsPaper

 

Radio partner


 
up

16.09.2021 – 09.01.2022

Выставочный зал Патриаршего дворца, выставочный зал Успенской звонницы

Организаторы:
Музеи Московского Кремля
Участники:

Музеи Московского Кремля, Национальный музей замков Версальи Трианон, Музей Виктории и Альберта, Национальный музей замков Мальмезон и Буа-Прео, Национальная библиотека Франции, Муниципальная библиотека г. Реймса, Государственная Третьяковская галерея, Государственный музей изобразительных искусств имени А.С. Пушкина, Государственный научно-исследовательский музей архитектуры имени А.В. Щусева, Государственный Эрмитаж, Государственный музей-заповедник «Павловск», Российская государственная библиотека, Библиотека Российской академии наук, Российский государственный архив древних актов, 

Посвященная многовековой истории российско-французских отношений выставка включает более двухсот экспонатов. Среди них архивные документы, личные вещи глав государств и дипломатические дары, бесценные произведения искусства. На протяжении столетий их бережно хранят музеи, архивы, библиотеки обеих стран, и, прежде всего, государева сокровищница ‒ Оружейная палата Московского Кремля.

Выставку открывает уникальный документ, напоминающий нам о событиях XI века, когда древнерусская и французская правящие династии породнились: дочь князя Ярослава Мудрого Анна вышла замуж за короля Генриха I. Это манускрипт из фондов Национальной библиотеки Франции 1063 года с кириллической надписью, предположительно, автографом Анны Ярославны. В 1896 году копию документа преподнесли императору Николаю II во время его официального визита в Париж. Тогда же российскому монарху довелось увидеть так называемое Реймсское Евангелие, которое в XIX веке связывали с именем Анны Ярославны, поскольку часть текста написана кириллицей на церковнославянском языке. Факсимильную копию рукописи Президент Российской Федерации В.В. Путин подарил Президенту Франции Э. Макрону во время официального визита в 2017 году. Реймсское Евангелие ‒ символ дружеских связей двух стран ‒ является одним из ключевых экспонатов выставки.

Грамота Филиппа I, подтверждающая право аббатства свв. Криспина и Криспиниана обладать алтарями в Пернане и Коломбе, с автографической подписью его матери, королевы Анны «Реймское» евангелие королевы Франции Анны Ярославны  (фрагмент) Рисунок «Встреча Петра I и Людовика XV в Париже 11 мая 1717 г.» Шпалера «Муза Астрономии Урания», из серии «Гротески на желтом фоне или фоне  цвета испанского табака»

Начиная с XVII века, когда во Францию были направлены первые царские посольства, русско-французские связи постепенно крепли, а после визита Петра I в Париж между двумя великими державами установились постоянные дипломатические отношения. Символично, что рисунок Ж. Демаре «Петр I и Людовик XV в Париже 11 мая 1717 года», занимающий почетное место на выставке, был преподнесен Президентом Франции Шарлем де Голлем руководству СССР в 1944 году в качестве дипломатического подарка.

В XVIII столетии политический диалог сопровождался приобретением для российского двора французских ювелирных изделий, произведений живописи и скульптуры, оружия и тканей. Из Франции в Россию приглашали талантливых мастеров.Об увлечении французским искусством и предметами роскоши при российском императорском дворе свидетельствуют представленные на выставке шпалеры, парадные костюмы юного императора Петра II, изысканные кружева российских государынь, предметы из серебряного Парижского сервиза императрицы Елизаветы Петровны, а также виртуозные творения французских оружейников, в том числе пара пистолетов императора Петра III работы королевского оружейника Ж.-Б. Лароша.     

 Шпалера «Портрет Петра I» Табакерка Кафтан и камзол императора Петра II Платье домашнее

Портреты из собрания ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина воссоздают галерею выдающихся политических и культурных деятелей времен правления Елизаветы Петровны и Екатерины II: российского посла во Франции князя Д.М. Голицына и его супруги, известного галломана и «вольтерьянца» графа А.П. Шувалова, а также сына короля Людовика XV – дофина Людовика.

В разделе, посвященном эпохе Екатерины II, представлены предметы знаменитого Орловского сервиза Ж.-Н. Ретье и принадлежавший императрице драгоценный чернильный прибор с часами парижской работы. Уникальные экспонаты из собрания музея-заповедника «Павловск» призваны оживить воспоминания о заграничном путешествии великого князя Павла Петровича и его супруги Марии Федоровны, а годы Великой французской революции находят отражение в редчайших мемориальных предметах и портретах, выполненных Э. Виже-Лебрен, любимой художницей королевы Марии-Антуанетты.

Передача бутылочная из «Орловского сервиза» Письменный прибор с часами Рукоять для трости 

Мороженица с крышкой Шкатулка Портрет Антуанетт Элизабет дe Агессо, графини де Сегюр

Особый раздел экспозиции посвящен взаимоотношениям России и Франции в правление Александра I. Здесь представлены предметы из Олимпийского сервиза, преподнесенного русскому государю императором Наполеоном I по случаю заключения Тильзитского мира в 1807 году, оружейный гарнитур работы Н.Н. Бутэ – подарок русскому генерал-губернатору Парижа Ф.В. Остен-Сакену от благодарных жителей города, а также звезда ордена Св. Духа, врученная Александру I королем Людовиком XVIII после победы над Наполеоном и реставрации монархии во Франции. Далее экспозиция знакомит посетителя с историей «русской Ниццы», рассказывает об участии Оружейной палаты во Всемирной выставке в Париже в 1867 году, об укреплении франко-российской дружбы и заключении союза в конце XIX столетия.

Пистолеты Тарелка «Похищение Европы» Звезда ордена Св. Духа (шитая)

Среди представленных на выставке памятников, значительная часть которых демонстрируется впервые, особого внимания заслуживает ружье с золоченой фигурой дельфина, изготовленное в честь рождения долгожданного наследника французского престола, будущего короля Людовика XIV, а также раритеты из императорской коллекции, например, табакерка с портретом детей Людовика XVI и Марии-Антуанетты кисти придворного художника П. Соважа и молитвенник супруги Людовика XV, Марии Лещинской.

Ружье охотничье Табакерка

Экспонаты выставки в Музеях Московского Кремля служат зримым свидетельством прочности многовековых культурных связей России и Франции, взаимного интереса и уважения к традициям и духовной жизни наших народов.

 
вверх