Buildings in the Kremlin
The Golden Tsarina's Chamber
In 1580-s, the chamber was rebuilt for a ceremonial reception room of tsarina Irina Godunova, the wife of Tsar Fyodor Ioannovich. It was richly decorated. The walls and vaults were painted with frescoes against the golden background so that it was given its second name – Golden. The unique wall-painting was based on the life-stories about the lives of famous Byzantine Tsarinas Irina Fyodorovna and Sofia, Russian Princess Olga and Georgian Tsarina Tamara.
The Anteroom or Passage Chamber is adjacent to the west of the Golden Tsarina’s Chamber. In the early XVII century, it was named Zhiletskaya (Dwellers) as the palace’s “dwellers” (guard and servants) were always present there.
In 1630-1640, the Verkhospasskiy Cathedral and a gallery were built over the Golden Tsarina’s Chamber. At present, a part of its eastern facade can be seen from Cathedral Square under the gallery, belting the 11 domes of the Terem Churches.
In 1683, new stone arches were fixed in the Chamber, whereas the vaults were reinforced with iron beams. Unfortunately, it hurt the harmony chamber’s interior.
The wall-painting was restored several times, saving the composition. While restoration works of 1925 and 1947, two fresco fragments dated by XVI century were found.
- The Church of Our Lady’s Nativity
- The Assumption Cathedral
- The Church of Laying Our Lady's Holy Robe
- The Annunciation Cathedral
- The Faceted Chamber
- The Archangel's Cathedral
- The Ivan the Great Bell-Tower complex
- The Golden Tsarina's Chamber
- The Terem Palace
- The Upper Saviour’s Cathedral and Terem Churches
- The Patriarch’s Palace and the Twelve Apostles’ Church
- The Fun Palace
- The Arsenal
- The Senate
- The Grand Kremlin Palace
- The Armoury Chamber
- The A.R.C.E.C. Kremlin Military School
- The State Kremlin Palace